Legislative Elert: Support Rape Victims Who Become Pregnant As a Result of Rape

Mar 01st, 2016

Five percent of rape victims of reproductive age (age 12-45) become pregnant as a result of rape, with the majority of pregnancies in adolescents.  Under current Maryland state law, rapists who impregnate women in the course of sexually assaulting them have the same full parental rights as other biological parents House Bill 646 will change this.  The Rape Survivor Family Protection Act, House Bill 646, sponsored by House Judiciary Committee Vice-Chair Kathleen M. Dumais and co-sponsored by 78 additional Delegates, will allow rape victims who become pregnant as a result of rape to ask the family law court to end the parental rights of their rapist.  The high standard of clear and convincing proof used in other termination of parental rights cases would be required. Rape victims should have to meet the same standard used in other termination of parental rights cases – no more, no less. Additionally, if a rapist-parent cannot be located, this bill would prohibit a court from ordering that a victim's name be published in the newspaper as is currently required. MCASA continues to support legislation that limits the parental rights of rapists when the child was conceived through rape and to increase protections for rape survivors who have a child conceived through rape. House Bill 646 will be heard Thursday, March 3rd.  Please call the members of the House Judiciary Committee to show support for rape survivors who choose to have a child conceived through rape. Your voices make a difference - please call or email this week.  The email addresses and telephone numbers for the committee members are provided below for your convenience, and we invite you to visit http://www.mcasa.org/law-public-policy/legislative-agenda/ to learn more about this year’s MCASA legislative agenda. You can also view our press release about this bill here. Thank you, as always, for your support for sexual assault survivors.   Lisae Lisae C. Jordan Executive Director and Counsel     MARYLAND HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE PHONE AND EMAILS: Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-23B) – Chair Prince George's County Phone: (410) 841-3488 Email: [email protected] Kathleen M. Dumais, Vice Chair (D-15) Montgomery County Phone: (410) 841-3052 |  (301) 858-3052 E-mail: [email protected]   Anne Arundel County Michael E. Malone (R-33) Phone: (410) 841-3510 | (301) 858-3510 E-mail: [email protected]   Baltimore City Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40) (410) 841-3189 |  (301) 858-3189 E-mail: [email protected] Samuel I. (Sandy) Rosenberg (D-41) Phone: (410) 841-3297 | (301) 858-3297 E-mail: [email protected] Jill P. Carter (D-41) Phone: (410) 841-3268 |  (301) 858-3268 E-mail: [email protected] Curtis Stovall (Curt) Anderson (D-43) Phone: (410) 841-3291 |  (301) 858-3291 E-mail: [email protected]   Baltimore County Charles E. Sydnor III (D-44B) Phone: (410) 841-3802 |  (301) 858-3802 E-mail: [email protected] John W. E. Cluster, Jr. (R-8) Phone: (410) 841-3526 |  (301) 858-3526 E-mail: [email protected]   Charles & Prince George's Counties Elizabeth G. (Susie) Proctor (D-27A) Phone: (410) 841-3083 |  (301) 858-3083 E-mail: [email protected]   Carroll & Howard Counties Trent M. Kittleman (R-9A) Phone: (410) 841-3556 |  (301) 858-3556 E-mail: [email protected]   Harford County Glen Glass (R-34A) Phone: (410) 841-3280 | (301) 858-3280 E-mail: [email protected] Susan K. McComas (R-34B) Phone: (410) 841-3272 | (301) 858-3272 E-mail: [email protected]   Howard County Vanessa E. Atterbeary (D-13) Phone: (410) 841-3471 | (301) 858-3471 E-mail: [email protected]   Montgomery County Marice I. Morales (D-19) Phone: (410) 841-3528 |  (301) 858-3528 E-mail: [email protected] David Moon (D-20) Phone: (410) 841-3474 | (301) 858-3474 E-mail: [email protected] Pamela E. Queen (D-14) Phone:(410) 841-3380 | (301) 858-3380 E-mail: [email protected] William C. (Will) Smith, Jr. (D-20) Phone: (410) 841-3493 |  (301) 858-3493 E-mail: [email protected]   Prince George's County Carlo Sanchez (D-47B) Phone: (410) 841-3340 |  (301) 858-3340 E-mail: [email protected]   St. Mary's County Deborah C. Rey (R-29B) Phone: (410) 841-3227 |  (301) 858-3227 E-mail: [email protected]   Washington County Neil C. Parrott (R-2A) Phone: (410) 841-3636 | (301) 858-3636 E-mail: [email protected] Brett R. Wilson (R-2B) Phone: (410) 841-3125 | (301) 858-3125 E-mail: [email protected]

Stay In The Loop

Sign up for our mailing list to receive Frontline, MCASA’s quarterly eNewsletter, and stay updated on MCASA’s programs and upcoming events and training in Maryland.

Sign Up