MCASA E-Lert: CALLS NEEDED NOW - Include Sexual Assault Survivors In COVID Relief

Jul 27th, 2020

Tell Congress to Include Sexual Assault & Domestic Violence Survivors in COVID Relief Package

The COVID pandemic has disproportionately affected survivors of sexual and domestic violence, and in communities of color that impact is compounded by systemic racism. 

As the House, Senate, and White House prepare to negotiate the next COVID-19 relief package, the needs of survivors of sexual assault and domestic violence must be addressed. 

Congress has provided trillions of dollars in supplemental funding in response to COVID-19, but they have provided NOTHING for survivors of sexual assault. They have provided some, but insufficient, funding for domestic violence organizations. This is despite knowing that COVID-19 has caused an increase in interpersonal violence, including sexual assault and child sexual abuse.

We can’t let Congress continue to fail survivors. Tell your representatives that the next supplemental funding package MUST ADDRESS THE NEEDS OF ALL SURVIVORS BY FUNDING SEXUAL ASSAULT SERVICES

These key policy changes will help survivors in Maryland:

  1. Provide more funding for sexual and domestic violence programs through a VAWA formula grant directly to victim service programs.
  2. Ensure that access to safety for immigrant survivors is not compromised by immigration enforcement. 
  3. Maryland is preparing for drastic cuts in federal Victim of Crime Act (VOCA) funds just when COVID means survivors need more help, not less. Stop the erosion of VOCA services by:
    • Increasing deposits into the Crime Victims Fund and
    • Temporarily waiving match requirements for Victims of Crime Act victim assistance grants.

Contact your representatives today to ask them to include all survivors in the next COVID relief package.

U.S. Senators from Maryland

Senator Ben Cardin Senator Chris Van Hollen
(202) 224-4524
Email Senator Cardin
(202) 224-4654
Email Senator Van Hollen


U.S. Representatives from Maryland

Andrew P. Harris (R), 1st Congressional District
Send an Email

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III (D), 2nd Congressional District
Send an Email

John P. Sarbanes (D), 3rd Congressional District
Send an Email

Anthony G. Brown (D), 4th Congressional District
Send an Email

Steny H. Hoyer (D), 5th Congressional District
Send an Email

David Trone (D), 6th Congressional District
Send an Email

Kweisi Mfume, 7th Congressional District
Send an Email

Jamin B. (Jamie) Raskin (D), 8th Congressional District
Send an Email

Join Our Newsletter

Frontline, MCASA's quarterly eNewsletter, features articles on different topics related to sexual assault prevention and response.

Sign Up