MCASA E-lert: Calls needed to define consent in the House

Mar 13th, 2024

CALL NOW: Ask House Judiciary Committee Members to support HB496

Thank you to the Criminal Law Subcommittee for voting in favor of HB496, the bill to make sex without consent a crime. The bill now goes to the full committee.

Sex without consent is rape, but Maryland's law does not reflect this. We need your calls to help pass House Bill 496 to change Maryland's rape law by defining consent in statute and repealing language that focuses on whether a victim resisted.

Right now, when one person has sex with someone without consent, Maryland’s rape law requires proof of lack of consent and Force or Threat of Force. Force and Threat of Force is proven by focusing on the survivor/victim and whether they resist.

House Bill 496 changes the focus
to whether there is
clear and voluntary agreement
between the people involved.

Sponsored by Delegate Emily Shetty, HB 496 strikes “force or threat of force” from the statute, leaving “without the consent of the other” and provides a definition of “consent.” This is NOT affirmative consent.

 Please call the House Judiciary Committee today and ask for
a favorable report on HB 496!


Luke H. Clippinger, Chair (District 46, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3488 | 301-858-3488
[email protected]

J. Sandy Bartlett, Vice Chair (District 32, Anne Arundel)
Phone: (410) 841-3370 | (301) 858-3370
[email protected]

Anne Arundel County
Rachel Munoz (District 31, Anne Arundel)
Phone: 410-841-3510 | 301-858-3501
[email protected]

Stuart Michael Schmidt, Jr. (District 33B, Anne Arundel)
Phone: 410-841-3110 | 301-858-3110
[email protected]

Gary Simmons (District 12B, Anne Arundel)
Phone: 410-841-3581 | 301-858-3581
[email protected]

Baltimore City
Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (District 40, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3189 | 301-858-3189
[email protected]

Elizabeth Embry (District 43A, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3638 | 301-858-3683
[email protected]

Baltimore County
Jon S. Cardin (District 11B, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3054 | 301-858-3054
[email protected]

Robin L. Grammer, Jr. (District 6, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3298 | 301-858-3298
[email protected]

Cheryl E. Pasteur (District 11A, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3448 | 301-858-3448
[email protected]

N. Scott Phillips (District 10, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3358 | 301-858-3358
[email protected]

Dorchester & Wicomico Counties
Sheree Sample-Hughes (District 37A, Dorchester & Wicomico)
Phone: 410-841-3427 | 301-858-3427
[email protected]

Frederick County
Karen Simpson (District 3, Frederick)
Phone: 410-841-3436 | 301-858-3436
[email protected]

Frederick & Carroll Counties
Christopher Bouchat (District 5, Frederick & Carroll)
Phone: 410-841-3200 | 301-858-3200
[email protected]

Chris Tomlinson (District 5, Frederick & Carroll)
Phone: 410-841-3359 | 301-858-3359
[email protected]

Frederick & Washington Counties
William Valentine (District 2A, Washington & Frederick)
Phone: 410-841-3636 | 301-858-3636
[email protected]

Harford County
Lauren C. Arikan (District 7B, Harford)
Phone: 410-841-3334 | 301-858-3334
[email protected]

Montgomery County
Charlotte Crutchfield (District 19, Montgomery)
Phone: 410-841-3485 | 301-858-3485
[email protected]

Aaron M. Kaufman (District 18, Montgomery)
Phone: 410-841-3314 | 301-858-3314
[email protected]

David Moon (District 20, Montgomery)
Phone: 410-841-3474 | 301-858-3474
E-mail: [email protected]

Prince George's County
Kent Roberson (District 25, Prince George's)
Phone: 410-841-3331 | 301-858-3331
[email protected]

Kym Taylor (District 23, Prince George's)
Phone: 410-841-3557 | 301-858-3557
[email protected]

Karen Toles (District 25, Prince George's)
Phone: 410-841-3524 | 301-858-3524
[email protected]

Nicole A. Williams (District 22, Prince George's)
Phone: 410-841-3058 | 301-858-3058
[email protected]

Stay In The Loop

Sign up for our mailing list to receive Frontline, MCASA’s quarterly eNewsletter, and stay updated on MCASA’s programs and upcoming events and training in Maryland.

Sign Up