MCASA E-lert: Support the Federal Violence Against Women Act

Apr 03rd, 2019

Contact Your Legislators in the Federal House of Representatives & Urge Them to Support the Violence Against Women Act 

The House of Representatives will vote Thursday on H.R.1585, the bipartisan Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2019, introduced by Representatives Karen Bass (D-CA-37) and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-01). H.R.1585 is a modest reauthorization bill that includes narrowly focused enhancements to address gaps identified by victims and survivors of sexual and domestic violence and the people who work on the ground with them every day.

Right now, opponents of VAWA want to  use the “motion to recommit” to add a poison pill to H.R.1585. The “motion to recommit” is a procedural maneuver that would allow a Member who opposes VAWA to submit a last minute amendment after all the regular amendments have been voted on. Members then only have 10 minutes to decide whether to support or oppose the measure. Any “motion to recommit” before the vote on VAWA will be used to damage H.R.1585. Please tell your Representative that H.R.1585 is a strong bill that victims and survivors support; it needs no last minute amendment via a motion to recommit before the vote.

Call your Representative and tell them
to vote YES on H.R.1585
and NO on the motion to recommit.

A list of the Maryland members of the House of Representatives, along with their phone numbers and links to how to contact them via email, is below.

Maryland House of Representatives Members
Rep. Andrew Harris
1st District

Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger
2nd District

Rep. John Sarbanes
3rd District

Rep. Anthony Brown
4th District

Rep. Steny Hoyer
5th District

Rep. David Trone
6th District

Rep. Elijah Cummings
7th District

Rep. Jamie Raskin
8th District

Stay In The Loop

Sign up for our mailing list to receive Frontline, MCASA’s quarterly eNewsletter, and stay updated on MCASA’s programs and upcoming events and training in Maryland.

Sign Up