MCASA E-Lert: Support The Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act Of 2019!

Mar 14th, 2019

The Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault urges you to contact your U.S. Representative this week and ask them to cosponsor and support H.R.1585: The Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2019.

The first Violence Against Women Act was introduced in 1994 to address sexual assault and domestic violence as a national public health issue, offering systematic safety and support to survivors.  It has since been reauthorized on three occasions, each time addressing new and pressing aspects of sexual assault and the way it affected particular communities.  The bill has recently expired and is now up for reauthorization.  This important piece of legislation, sponsored by House Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA) and Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), reauthorizes the Violence Against Women Act with additional protections and support of survivors. 

Addressing new concerns related to violence against women, the new VAWA Reauthorization offers additional support to survivors in obtaining independent housing and economic stability.  In addition, H.R. 1585 contains guidance to better equip law enforcement and the health system in supporting survivors.  

Contact members of Congress this week and urge them
to cosponsor and support H.R.1585,
the bipartisan Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2019,
to give communities more resources
and survivors more opportunities to heal.

A list of the U.S. House of  Representatives serving Maryland, along with phone and email contact information is below.

U.S. Representatives for Maryland

Representative Andy Harris
First District
202-225-5311 | 410-588-5670
Email Here

Representative Dutch Ruppersberger
Second District
202-225-3061 | 410-628-2701
Email Here

Representative John Sarbanes
Third District
202-225-4016 | 410-295-1679
Email Here

Representative Anthony G. Brown
Fourth District
202-225-8699 | 410-226-3249
Email Here

Representative Steny Hoyer
Fifth District
202-225-4131 | 301-474-0119
Email Here

Representative David Trone
Sixth District
202-225-2721 | 301-926-0300
Email Here

Representative Elijah Cummings
Seventh District
202-225-4741 | 410-685-9199
Email Here

Representative Jamie Raskin
Eighth District
202-225-5341 | 301-354-1000
Email Here

Join Our Newsletter

Frontline, MCASA's quarterly eNewsletter, features articles on different topics related to sexual assault prevention and response.

Sign Up