#MeToo – Don’t Gut the Disclosing Sexual Harassment in the Workplace Act

Apr 06th, 2018

Shine Light on Maryland's Harvey Weinsteins 
Call Members of Finance and Economic Matters and Ask Them to Keep Reporting Requirements on Sexual Harassment Settlements

HB1596/SB1010 is the Disclosing Sexual Harassment in the Workplace Act of 2018, sponsored by Senator Craig Zucker and Delegate Kris Valderrama.  It would help protect rights of employees but also would help shine light on sexual harassment in Maryland  by requiring large employers (over 50 employees) to report annually on the:

  • Number of sexual harassment settlements
  • Number of sexual harassment settlement agreements containing a non-disclosure agreement (an agreement to keep the settlement secret)
  • Number of times a settlement has been paid by the employer for the same harasser over the past 10 years (the Harvey Weinstein provision)

The House Economic Matters Committee gutted the reporting provisions, but the Senate Finance Committee kept them.  This means that the bill will go to conference committee to work out differences.
Call the members of Economics Matters and Finance Committee and ask them to KEEP THE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS on Sexual Harassment Settlements
Advocates worked closely with the business community to create provisions to require only that aggregate numbers be published on the web (no names of employers) and that employers have the ability to include information that they took disciplinary action against harassers. No names of any victim or harasser would be reported.  Voluntary non-disclosure agreements would still be permitted when victims agree.

Call now to shine the light on sexual harassment in the workplace.



Dereck E. Davis, Chair​, (D-25​) 
​Phone: ​(410) 841-3519​ ​ (301) 858-3519
​Email: [email protected]

Sally Young Jameson, Vice Chair (D-28)
Phone: (410) 841-3337, (301) 858-3337
Email: [email protected]

Anne Arundel County:
Seth A. Howard (R-30B)
Phone: 410-841-3439 | 301-858-3439
Email: [email protected]

Edward P. (Ned) Carey (D-31A)
Phone: (410) 841-3047, (301) 858-3047
Email: [email protected]

Baltimore City:
Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
Phone: 410-841-3257 | 301-858-3257
Email: [email protected]

Talmadge Branch (D-45)
Phone: (410) 841-3398, (301) 858-3398
Email: [email protected]

Luke H. Clippinger (D-46)
Phone: (410) 841-3303, (301) 858-3303
Email: [email protected]

Baltimore County: 
Susan L. M. Aumann (D-42B)
Phone: (410) 841-3258, (301) 858-3258
Email: [email protected]

Benjamin T. Brooks, Sr (D-10)
Phone: (410) 841-3352, (301) 858-3352
Email: [email protected]

Baltimore and Harford Counties:
Rick Impallaria (R-7)
Phone: 410-841-3289 | 301-858-3289
Email: [email protected]

Calvert County:
Mark N. Fisher (D-27C)
Phone: (410) 841-3231, (301) 858-3231
Email: mark.fish[email protected]

Caroline, Cecil, Kent & Queen Anne's Counties:
Steven J. Arentz (D-36)
Phone: (410) 841-3543, (301) 858-3543
Email: [email protected]

Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot, and Wicomico Counties:
Johnny Mautz (R-37B)
Phone: 410-841-3429 | 301-858-3429
Email: [email protected]

Christopher T. Adams (D-37B)
Phone:   (410) 841-3343, (301) 858-3343
Email: [email protected]

Charles County: 
C.T. Wilson (D-28)
Phone: 410-841-3325 | 301-858-3325
Email: [email protected]

Harford County:
Mary Ann Lisanti (D-34A)
Phone: 410-841-3331 | 301-858-3331
Email: [email protected]

Howard and Carroll Counties:
Warren E. Miller (R-9A)
Phone: 410-841-3582 | 301-858-3582
Email: [email protected]

Montgomery County:
Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)
Phone: 410-841-3130 | 301-858-3130 
Email: [email protected]

Benjamin F. Kramer (D-19)
Phone: 410-841-3485 | 301-858-3485
Email: [email protected]

Charles E. Barkley (D-39)
Phone: (410) 841-3001, (301) 858-3001
Email: [email protected]

C. William (Bill) Frick (D-16) 
Phone: (410) 841-3454, (301) 858-3454
Email: [email protected]

Prince George's County:
Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
Phone: 410-841-3210 | 301-858-3210
Email: [email protected]

Diana M. Fennell (D-47A) 
Phone: (410) 841-3478, (301) 858-3478
Email: [email protected]


Thomas M. (Mac) Middleton, Chair (D-28)
Phone: (410) 841-3616 | (301) 858-3616
E-mail: [email protected]

John C. Astle, Vice-Chair (D-30)
Phone: (410) 841-3578 | (301) 858-3578
E-mail: [email protected]

Anne Arundel County: 
Edward R. Reilly (R-33)
Phone: (410) 841-3568 | (301) 858-3568
E-mail: [email protected]

Baltimore County:
Katherine A. Klausmeier (D-8)
Phone: (410) 841-3620 | (301) 858-3620
E-mail: [email protected]

Baltimore County & Harford County:
J. B. Jennings (R-7)
Phone: (410) 841-3706 | (301) 858-3706
E-mail: [email protected]

Caroline, Cecil, Kent, & Queen Anne's:
Stephen S. Hershey, Jr. (R-36)
Phone: (410) 841-3639 | (301) 858-3639
E-mail: [email protected]

Montgomery County:
Brain J. Feldman (D-15)
Phone: (410) 841-3169 | (301) 858-3169
E-mail: [email protected]

Prince George's County:
Joanne C. Benson (D-24)
Phone: (410) 841-3148 | (301) 858-3148
E -mail: [email protected]

Prince George's County & Anne Arundel County:
James Carew Rosapepe (D-21)
Phone: (410) 841-3141 | (301) 858-3141
E -mail: [email protected]

Somerset, Wicomico, & Worcester:
James N. Mathias Jr. (D-38)
Phone: (410) 841-3645 | (301) 858-3645
E -mail: [email protected]

Join Our Newsletter

Frontline, MCASA's quarterly eNewsletter, features articles on different topics related to sexual assault prevention and response.

Sign Up