CALL NOW: End Marriage as a Defense to Sex Crimes

Feb 23rd, 2023

Ask the House Judiciary Committee to vote favorably on HB 4

The House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to vote on Friday, February 24th on legislation ending marriage as a defense to sex crimes. 

Call NOW to ask members of the Judiciary Committee to support HB4:
Marriage Should Not Be a Defense to Sex Crimes

Currently, Maryland law allows marriage to be a defense to some sex crimes. This archaic law means that married people have less protection from sex crimes than unmarried people. 

Getting married should not mean that you give up your right to control your own body.  It's time to move Maryland out of the dark ages and firmly reject the notion that marriage is an irrevocable and continual consent to offensive sexual touching.

Please ask members of the Judiciary Committee to
vote favorably on HB4
to give justice to survivors of marital rape and sex offenses 


Luke H. Clippinger, Chair (District 46, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3488 | 301-858-3488
E-mail: [email protected]

David Moon (District 20, Montgomery County)
Phone: 410-841-3474 | 301-858-3474
E-mail: [email protected]

Anne Arundel County
J. Sandy Bartlett (District 32, Anne Arundel County)
Phone: (410) 841-3370 | (301) 858-3370
[email protected]

Rachel Munoz (District 31, Anne Arundel County)
Phone: 410-841-3510 | 301-858-3501
[email protected]

Stuart Michael Schmidt, Jr. (District 33B, Anne Arundel County)
Phone: 410-841-3110 | 301-858-3110
[email protected]

Gary Simmons (District 12B, Anne Arundel County)
Phone: 410-841-3581 | 301-858-3581
[email protected]

Baltimore City
Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (District 40, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3189 | 301-858-3189
[email protected]

Elizabeth Embry (District 43A, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3638 | 301-858-3683
[email protected]

Caylin Young (District 45, Baltimore City)
Phone: 410-841-3429 | 301-858-3429
[email protected]

Baltimore County
Jon S. Cardin (District 11B, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3054 | 301-858-3054
[email protected]

Robin L. Grammer, Jr. (District 6, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3298 | 301-858-3298
[email protected]

Cheryl E. Pasteur (District 11A, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3448 | 301-858-3448
[email protected]

N. Scott Phillips (District 10, Baltimore County)
Phone: 410-841-3358 | 301-858-3358
[email protected]

Frederick County
Karen Simpson (District 3, Frederick)
Phone: 410-841-3436 | 301-858-3436
[email protected]

Frederick & Carroll Counties
Christopher Bouchat (District 5, Frederick and Carroll Counties)
Phone: 410-841-3200 | 301-858-3200
[email protected]

Chris Tomlinson (District 5, Frederick and Carroll Counties)
Phone: 410-841-3359 | 301-858-3359
[email protected]

Frederick & Washington Counties
William Valentine (District 2A, Washington and Frederick Counties)
Phone: 410-841-3636 | 301-858-3636
[email protected]

Harford County
Lauren C. Arikan (District 7B, Harford County)
Phone: 410-841-3334 | 301-858-3334
[email protected]

Montgomery County
Charlotte Crutchfield (District 19, Montgomery County)
Phone: 410-841-3485 | 301-858-3485
[email protected]

Aaron M. Kaufman (District 18, Montgomery County)
Phone: 410-841-3314 | 301-858-3314
[email protected]

Prince George's County
Kym Taylor (District 23, Prince George's County)
Phone: 410-841-3331 | 301-858-3331
[email protected]

Karen Toles (District 25, Prince George's County)
Phone: 410-841-3524 | 301-858-3524
[email protected]

Nicole A. Williams (District 22, Prince George's County)
Phone: 410-841-3058 | 301-858-3058
[email protected]

Sign up for our mailing list to make sure you're informed about important bills, who in the legislature you can call to fight for these issues, and other ways you can help us make a difference for sexual assault survivors in our state.

Stay In The Loop

Sign up for our mailing list to receive Frontline, MCASA’s quarterly eNewsletter, and stay updated on MCASA’s programs and upcoming events and training in Maryland.

Sign Up